Gaikwad creates a world record by hitting a record seven sixes


– Advertisement –

In the penultimate over of the Vijay Hazare Trophy quarterfinal match in Ahmedabad, Shiva Singh was the bowler who was hurt.

Against Uttar Pradesh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy quarterfinal in Ahmedabad, Maharashtra captain and opener Ruturaj Gaikwad struck seven sixes in an over, a first in List A cricket.

It was the penultimate over of the Maharashtra inning, which began with a score of 272 for 5 and ended with 315 for 5. 330 to 5 was their final score. A Ford Trophy game between the Northern Districts and Central Districts in 2018 saw a total of 43 runs scored from the over, which matched the combined performance of Brett Hampton and Joe Carter off Willem Ludick.

Shiva Singh, a left-arm spinner, was bowling the first over on Monday in Ahmedabad while operating from near the wicket. The first ball was smoked over wide long-on from a low full toss. The second shot, which was in the arc, landed square on the ground.Gaikwad swung over the rope at a deep square-leg with the third, which was shorter.

The length was ideal for Gaikwad to hit over long-off as Shiva altered his position and went outside off stump for the fourth ball. The fifth pitch basically followed the same path and ended in a no-ball; the free hit also went over long-on. Gaikwad completed his double century with that sixth six in five legal deliveries. Shiva’s final delivery, which was the one that eventually sailed over the wicket, again went over deep midwicket while still in the arc on middle stump.

With ten fours and 16 sixes, Gaikwad reached his final score of 220 not out off 159 balls. Shiva, who had nine overs, ended up with a disastrous 0 for 88. With the other Maharashtra hitters scoring 96 runs from 142 balls, Gaikwad was essentially putting on a one-man show.

As the fifth-highest total by an Indian in the format, the 220 notched the 39th double-century in List A cricket. The top score on that list, N Jagadeesan’s 277, was also recorded in this year’s Vijay Hazare Trophy match between Tamil Nadu and Arunachal Pradesh.

While it’s commonly accepted that Garry Sobers and Ravi Shastri each scored 36 runs in an over during a first-class match, there have been other occasions when totals far exceeded that mark. The largest, by far, was probably the 77 goals Wellington’s Bert Vance gave up against Canterbury in a Shell Trophy match in February 1990, when they were awarded under somewhat dubious circumstances.

(To receive our latest news on WhatsApp daily, please click here. To receive it on Telegram, please click here.)


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *